Just Dance Phenomenon Continues With Three New Titles

By Paul Hunter

Ubisoft's music sensation Just Dance is back with three all-new titles to keep our hands shakin' and toes tappin' all year long.

The Just Dance franchise has been an incredible success for Ubisoft, having sold over 25 million units worldwide (as of January 2012) in just over two years since its debut. The first title in the series, released on Wii in November 2009, quickly became Ubisoft's top selling Wii game and was the fastest selling third-party Wii title of all time, selling two million copies in four months.

It's no wonder then that Ubisoft has prepared a full line-up consisting of three Just Dance titles over the remainder of 2012. Let's take a look at what's coming out:

Just Dance Greatest Hits (Kinect for Xbox 360, Wii)
Release Date: June 26, 2012

The recently released Just Dance Greatest Hits is a compilation package featuring the best songs from the previous four Just Dance games, including: Just Dance, Just Dance 2, Just Dance Summer Party and Just Dance 3. Tracks on the disc include ones that were previously available only through DLC, such as Barbie Girl by Aqua, or were retailer exclusives. The North American version of the game features 35 hit songs, from the 80s all the way to present day, ranging from Eye of the Tiger by Survivor to Tik Tok by Ke$ha.

Just Dance: Disney Party (Kinect for Xbox 360, Wii)
Release Date: October 2012

During the E3 Expo, Ubisoft in collaboration with Disney Interactive, announced the development of Just Dance: Disney Party. The game features an array of classic and contemporary songs from a range of popular Disney films, Disney Channel shows, and Disney Theme Parks. The dance choreography has been designed for kids and parents to enjoy the range of songs on disc, which include hits from movies such as Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid, The Jungle Book, and Disney Channel shows like Jessie, Phineas and Ferb, and Good Luck Charlie.

Just Dance 4 (Kinect for Xbox 360, PlayStation Move for PlayStation 3, Wii, Wii U)
Release Date: October 2012

Also announced by Ubisoft during E3 was Just Dance 4, the next main entry in their hit dancing franchise. The above promotional trailer, featuring both live action production and motion graphics, kicked-off the game announcement in a big way. Ubisoft says Just Dance is a "social catalyst" and wanted the first trailer to show off how the newest game will truly create the world's best party. The song heard in the trailer, Good Feeling by Flo Rida, is one of the songs on the Just Dance 4 playlist. The final game will features more than 40 songs, ranging from classic dance songs to current chart-toppers, 12 was revealed during E3:

· Call Me Maybe – Carly Rae Jepsen
· Disturbia – Rihanna
· Good Feeling – Flo Rida
· Maneater – Nelly Furtado
· Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5 ft. Christina Aguilera
· Never Gonna Give You Up – Rick Astley
· Rock Lobster– The B-52’s
· So What – P!nk
· Super Bass – Nicki Minaj
· You’re The First, The Last, My Everything – Barry White
· What Makes You Beautiful – One Direction
· Wild Wild West – Will Smith

New modes and features in Just Dance 4 include:

Battle Mode: friends can go head-to-head with each other in six rounds of dance battles, with the choreography and music changing depending on who is currently winning or losing.

Alternative Choreographies: players will have the chance to unlock alternative dance routines for some of their favourite tracks.

Expanded Sweat Mode: the popular Just Sweat mode gets a major upgrade with new workout sessions, personalized programs and a calorie counter to track your workout intensity.

Just Dance 4 for Wii U will also have exclusive features, such as for the first time ever, up to 5-player gameplay using the Wii U controller. The player wielding the Wii U controller can act as the Master of Ceremony with the ability to switch dance routines that are being performed by the other four players in real-time.

For the latest information on Just Dance 4, check out: www.justdancegame.com

[This article originally appeared on the Future Shop Tech Blog]