Shigeru Miyamoto Named 2008 “Nite to Unite for Kids” Honoree

The ESA announced today that Shigeru Miyamoto, Nintendo Co., Ltd., will be receiving the 2009 ESA Champion Award at the annual “Nite to Unite for Kids” dinner. This is an annual award sponsored by the Entertainment Software Association Foundation. Shigeru is being honoured for "his remarkable creativity and passion for fun" and for the Iconic games that have been produced by Nintendo under his guidance.

This event will take place on Wednesday, October 22, in San Francisco at the Westin St. Francis Hotel.

Past Honorees include:
  • George Lucas
  • Dan DeMatteo (GameStop)
  • Bing Gordon (EA)
  • Michael Goldstein (Toys ‘R Us’)
  • Howard Lincoln (Nintendo)
  • Isao Ogawa (Sega)
  • Ken Kutaragi (Sony)
Photo: random_j